Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Linguistics And Languages

ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) 
Description: Access to literary texts including dictionaries and reference works.

Tags:  France, French  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Citation Index 
Description: 1975 - present. See Web of Science. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1,100 leading arts and humanities journals through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Caribbean Literature 
Description: When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Caribbean Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
Description: CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Tags:  CRL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Request Materials from CRL  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Center for Research Libraries (CRL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digitalia Hispanica 
Description: Provides access to over five thousand digitized Spanish language academic ebooks and ejournals from a broad range of subjects.

Comments or questions about Digitalia Hispanica?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
Description: 1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) 
Description: 1926-present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Tags:  modern language association, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford English Dictionary 
Description: The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. The OED traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

Help:  Help With Using OED Online  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford English Dictionary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,00 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Tags:  PIO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PIO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TTL) Online 
Description: The largest dictionary of the Latin language encompassing the use of Latin from its origin to the 7th century A.D.

Tags:  TTL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TTL) Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444