Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Literature

18th Century Collections Online (Gale) 
Description: Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about 18th Century Collections Online (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 
Description: 1920-present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
Description: Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

Tags:  Mexico, Spain, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Title List  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) 
Description: Access to literary texts including dictionaries and reference works.

Tags:  France, French  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about ARTFL Project (Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Citation Index 
Description: 1975 - present. See Web of Science. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1,100 leading arts and humanities journals through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Based on the Book 
Description: A database of selected books that have been made into movies.

Help:  FAQ  |  FAQS About the Online Catalog  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Based on the Book?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bibliography of American Literature 
Description: BAL - Nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930.

Help:  Using Bibliography of American Literature Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bibliography of American Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Black Women Writers 
Description: Highlights the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, poetry, and essays.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Black Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Caribbean Literature 
Description: When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Caribbean Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
Description: CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Tags:  CRL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Request Materials from CRL  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Center for Research Libraries (CRL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early English Books Online (EEBO) 
Description: 1475 - 1700. Full text and page images of books from English language titles. Search by subject, title, author. Contains over 100,000 titles. Includes works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

Tags:  EEBO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Print or save entire book or specified page ranges. Full-text searching. Save citations and records.

Comments or questions about Early English Books Online (EEBO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Explore the British Library 
Description: Search, view and order items from the British Library's collection of nearly 57 million records.

Tags:  Europe, England, Britain  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Explore the British Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

FRANCIS - International Humanities and Social Studies (EBSCO) 
Description: 1984 - present. International index to articles in the humanities and social sciences. Emphasis on religion, anthropology, art history, literature and economics. Updated monthly.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Using Institution Records   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about FRANCIS - International Humanities and Social Studies (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Gujin Tushu Jicheng 
Description: The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China. Includes most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty.

Tags:  China, Chinese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Gujin Tushu Jicheng?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
Description: 1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period 
Description: Includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Also offers numerous biographical and critical essays.

Tags:  Ireland, poems, poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

L'Annee philologique 
Description: This database published by the Societe Internationale de Bibliographie Classique contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2008, with 12,500 new records added each year. 1,500 periodicals are analyzed each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract.

Help:  User Manual (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about L'Annee philologique?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latin American Women Writers 
Description: Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

Tags:  poetry   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Latin American Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latino Literature 
Description: Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.

Help:  FAQ  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Latino Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest) 
Description: A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.

Help:  Help Page  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Literature Resources from Gale 
Description: A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.

Help:  Help  |  Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Literature Resources from Gale?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

London Review of Books 
Description: The London Review of Books is Europe's leading literary magazine. Provides access to literary criticism as well as art and film reviews.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about London Review of Books?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) 
Description: 1926-present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Tags:  modern language association, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4  
Description: Access to collections of primary sources from Asia and the West. Includes Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theater, Music, and Literature.

Tags:  NCCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4 ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers 
Description: 1500 - 1700. Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perseus Digital Library 
Description: Database of images, Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies and English word searches of the texts.

Tags:  Greek, Latin   (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Perseus Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Project Gutenberg 
Description: Access to over 20,000 online titles. Browse or search the catalog.

Usage Tips: No download required. Log-in required to add to favorites. Multiple user simultaneous access. Save or print entire record.

Comments or questions about Project Gutenberg?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Romantic Era Redefined 
Description: 1800 - 1830. Includes poetry, prose, drama, letters, and diaries - along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works. Provides access to Pickering & Chatto's critical editions in electronic format, as well as the complete digital version of The Wordsworth Circle.

Tags:  diaries  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Romantic Era Redefined?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
Description: Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database 
Description: Citations to articles, books, reviews and other materials about science fiction, fantasy and horror; includes both scholarly and fan writings. Covers all aspects except book reviews.

Help:  New Users  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scottish Women Poets 
Description: Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry by Scottish women poets, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  FAQ  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scottish Women Poets?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Si ku quan shu 
Description: Works only with IE An electronic edition of the collection Si ku quan shu comprised of the finest editions of the best books in China and completed in 1782. Includes 3,461 works, totaling over 36,375 volumes/scrolls. Its four main bibliographic divisions are jing , shi , zi , and ji .

Tags:  China, Chinese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Si ku quan shu?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
Description: SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Tags:  SSRN  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Science Research Network (SSRN)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

South and Southeast Asian Literature 
Description: 1825 - present. A collection of fiction, short fiction, poetry, interviews and manuscript materials with a focus on writing from the late-colonial and postcolonial eras. Works are written by authors from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore and Fiji.

Help:  Help Getting Started  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about South and Southeast Asian Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Theatre in Video 
Description: A collection of approximately 500 hours of streaming video files. Includes recordings of live theatre performances and also documentary videos about theatre production.

Tags:  theater  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Theatre in Video?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UC Press E-Books Collection 
Description: 1982 - 2004. Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about UC Press E-Books Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Walter Scott Digital Archive 
Description: A "webliography" of over 300 electronic texts of works by the Scottish novelist and poet Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832), author of Ivanhoe and the Waverley novels. At the same site there is biographical information about Scott, a bibliography of recent critical publications, forthcoming events relating to Scott, a bibliography of his works, and links to other relevant sites.

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Print or download in free E-text section. Other resources (biographies, images, etc). also available.

Comments or questions about Walter Scott Digital Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444