Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Music

African American Music Reference 
Description: This database chronicles the history of music by African Americans over time, including links to external web resources, streaming audio tracks and musical scores.

Help:  Navigating the Site  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about African American Music Reference?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

All Music Guide 
Description: A large, informative site covering multiple styles of music (rap, rock, classical, country, etc.).

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about All Music Guide?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Song 
Description: A streaming music database which captures America's past through a variety of genres. Includes many artists addressing a range of social issues and historical events.

Tags:  music online, African American Song  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Song?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

British Library Archival Sound Recordings 
Description: The British Library holds one of the world's foremost sound archives with a collection of over 3.5 million audio recordings. These recordings cover the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Tags:  drama, oral history  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about British Library Archival Sound Recordings?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Classical Music Library 
Description: This is an electronic database of classical music recordings, with digital audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. User may also use the databases option to create playlists and themes.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Classical Music Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Contemporary World Music 
Description: Contemporary World Music contains 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions from every continent. It includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Contemporary World Music?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project 
Description: The earliest method of recording and reproducing sound was on phonograph cylinders. UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections.

Tags:  recordings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help & FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Free Sheet Music 
Description: Download sheet music, music lessons and musical tips for instruments and musical styles.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Free Sheet Music?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, The 
Description: The full text of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, additional text related to world music, audio examples and links to streaming audio tracks.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, The?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Grove Music Online 
Description: A leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001. Includes more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Grove Music Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest) 
Description: 1874-present. Provides indexes, abstracts and selected full text for hundreds of music journals covering research on topics such as performance, theory, composition, music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Includes scholarly and popular materials.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Home Page  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Index to Nineteenth Century Music Periodicals (RIPM) 
Description: The online version of the Repertoire international de la press musicale, containing article citations for over 65 primarily 19th century periodicals published in most European countries and the United States.

Tags:  RIPM  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about International Index to Nineteenth Century Music Periodicals (RIPM)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Lyrics World 
Description: Search for the lyrics of your favorite songs.

Comments or questions about Lyrics World?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Music Online 
Description: Cross-search hundreds of thousands of audio tracks, scores, and reference works across many Alexander Street Press music databases including African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

Comments or questions about Music Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Naxos Music Library (NML) 
Description: Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. NML can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the new iPhone / iPod Touch App subscribers can also access the service on the go.

Tags:  NML  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Member's User Guide  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Naxos Music Library (NML)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Naxos Music Library Jazz 
Description: Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Naxos Music Library Jazz?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4  
Description: Access to collections of primary sources from Asia and the West. Includes Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theater, Music, and Literature.

Tags:  NCCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4 ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford History of Western Music 
Description: Includes the full text with notes, bibliographies and further readings as well as 500 illustrations, 1,800 musical examples & index from the 2009 print edition.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford History of Western Music?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford Music Online 
Description: Contains over 29,000 articles and approximately 250,000 citations. Offers full-text searching capabilities as well as article browsing. Selected articles include links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations.

Help:  Quickstart  |  Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford Music Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Public Domain Music 
Description: A reference site that assists in the identification of music and songs in the public domain.

Help:  Info/FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Public Domain Music?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO) 
Description: 1967 - present. Comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world, useful for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Quick Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (EBSCO) 
Description: 1800 - 1950. Contains article citations for over 84 journals covering music periodical literature. Includes information on musical history, composers and compositions to chronicle European and North American musical life. Primary and secondary sources are available including references to images, advertisements, and reviews.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Quick Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 (EBSCO) 
Description: An index of music manuscripts. Includes more than 657,000 manuscript records by over 22,500 composers found in over 800 libraries and archives in 32 countries. Some graphical images from the opening words of early printed materials are included. RISM Composer, RISM Libraries Sigla, and RISM Bibliographic Citations Database also form part of the content.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Quick Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
Description: Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sheet Music Consortium 
Description: Collections of digitized sheet music from four academic libraries.

Comments or questions about Sheet Music Consortium?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries 
Description: This is an electronic database of approximately 35,000 tracks of world music and sound recordings from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, with audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

Help:  Searching Overview  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Songfacts 
Description: Song meanings and song information, including recordings, chart positions, trivia and lyrics.

Help:  SongFAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Songfacts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UC Press E-Books Collection 
Description: 1982 - 2004. Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about UC Press E-Books Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444