Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Performing Arts

American Film Institute Catalog 
Description: A comprehensive and detailed national filmography, the AFI Catalog includes the entire print version, which currently comprises five volumes documenting all films produced in the United States from 1892 to 1971, as well as new content and important updates for all previous records. Offers authoritative plot summaries and insider production notes, as well as subject and song indexing for each film record.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Film Institute Catalog?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Variety Stage 
Description: A multimedia anthology, this collection covers diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Includes 334 English- and Yiddish-language play scripts, more than 140 theater playbills and programs, several dozen motion pictures, ten sound recordings, and a substantial collection of photographs and ephemera on Harry Houdini.

Help:  How To View  |  How To View (video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Variety Stage?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Citation Index 
Description: 1975 - present. See Web of Science. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1,100 leading arts and humanities journals through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Asian American Drama 
Description: Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% have never been published before.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Asian American Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Based on the Book 
Description: A database of selected books that have been made into movies.

Help:  FAQ  |  FAQS About the Online Catalog  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Based on the Book?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Black Drama 
Description: 1850 - present. Black Drama contains 908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays.

Help:  Table of Contents Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Black Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Box Office Guru 
Description: Compiles box office data on films released since 1989, updated weekly using data from Variety. The site also includes upcoming releases and a list of the all-time top-grossing motion pictures.

Comments or questions about Box Office Guru?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

British Library Archival Sound Recordings 
Description: The British Library holds one of the world's foremost sound archives with a collection of over 3.5 million audio recordings. These recordings cover the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Tags:  drama, oral history  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about British Library Archival Sound Recordings?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Broadway.com 
Description: Information about live theater across the U.S.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Broadway.com?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Dramatists Play Service, Inc. 
Description: A catalog of acting editions of scripts. Plays can be searched for by title, author, subject, number of cast members, length of play, and other search options.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Dramatists Play Service, Inc.?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest) 
Description: 1864-present. Indexes more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, as well as a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.

Tags:  dance, drama, comedy, opera, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Tutorial: Finding Film Reviews  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Internet Broadway Database 
Description: A source for finding the original production information for theater openings from the beginning of the New York Theater to the present. Provides a listing of cast members, credits and statistics.

Help:  FAQ/Contacting IBDB  |  IBDB Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Internet Broadway Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Internet Movie Database 
Description: Reviews, plot summaries, cast information; television too: over 200,000 movie and TV titles are covered.

Tags:  television  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  IMDB Frequently Asked Questions  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Internet Movie Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Theatre Online 
Description: More than 40,000 pages of critical, in-copyright reference works about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts and related information covering the world of theatre from colonial times to the present.

Tags:  drama,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Theatre Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Women's Drama 
Description: This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,174 plays by 275 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Tags:  drama  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Women's Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Play Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1949 - present. Citations to 31,000 plays. Includes monologues, plot summaries, cast sizes, male and female roles, etc. Search for plays by title; author; subject (culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Play Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Playbill 
Description: News, feature and performance listings for Broadway, Off-Broadway, London and Regional Theatre.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Playbill?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Playdatabase 
Description: This catalog allows you to search by length of a play, for monologues, by gender, time period, age of characters, and more.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Playdatabase?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Theatre in Video 
Description: A collection of approximately 500 hours of streaming video files. Includes recordings of live theatre performances and also documentary videos about theatre production.

Tags:  theater  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Theatre in Video?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444