Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Political Science

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO) 
Description: 1969 - 1990. Archives of Alternative Press Index. Includes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American FactFinder 
Description: A source for population, housing, economic and geographic data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Tags:  American Fact Finder, census  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American FactFinder?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
Description: Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

Tags:  Mexico, Spain, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Title List  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

AUL Index to Military Periodicals 
Description: 1990 - present. Specialized index to articles on military, defense, and national security issues. Global scope, including Latin America, Europe, and Asia. Compiled by Air University Library.

Help:  Search Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about AUL Index to Military Periodicals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index 
Description: A source for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Draws on established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online 
Description: Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.

Help:  Access Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Publications (ProQuest) 
Description: 1789-present. Access to comprehensive collection of Congressional publications including: committee information; committee hearings; committee prints and miscellaneous congressional publications; committee reports; congressional records; congressional rules; House and Senate documents; Senate executive documents and reports, laws, and bills; legislative histories; campaign financial data; key votes and roll calls.

Tags:  congress, government, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Topics  |  Content Coverage Chart  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Publications (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac 
Description: Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press 
Description: Simultaneously search CQ Researcher, and Collections for Congress, Supreme Court, Press Public Affairs, Press Voting & Elections, California Political Almanac, Supreme Court Yearbook, Politics in America and Handbook of the World.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher 
Description: CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Tutorial  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly 
Description: Weekly reports on congressional news. Covers virtually every act of Congress, providing nonpartisan news and analysis.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital Commons Network 
Description: Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Comments or questions about Digital Commons Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

FIRST 3.0 
Description: The FIRST system offers researchers, politicians and the media an authoritative and structured factual reference system on international relations and security trends. It contains high-quality, up-to-date and clearly documented information in areas such as: conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditure, hard facts on states and international organizations, economic and social statistics, and chronologies.

Tags:  politics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about FIRST 3.0?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports 
Description: 1941-1996. Provides access to translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, in addition to official news sources and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.

Tags:  CIA, FBIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Founders Early Access (From National Archives and Virginia Foundation for the Humanities) 
Description: 5,000 previously unpublished documents from our nation's founders including letters and other papers penned by important figures such as James Madison, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson.

Help:  Help (Navigation)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Founders Early Access (From National Archives and Virginia Foundation for the Humanities)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

House of Commons Parlimentary Papers 
Description: These papers are important to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. Includes filmed images of original Parliamentary Papers dating as far back as 1688.

Help:  HCPP Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about House of Commons Parlimentary Papers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 
Description: ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Tags:  ICPSR  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

iPoll (Roper Center) 
Description: A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.

Tags:  polls, roper center  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Tutorial  |  Dataset Search Tutorial  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about iPoll (Roper Center)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ISN International Relations & Security Network 
Description: Open access information service for international relations and security professionals. Includes grey literature, primary source material, books and journals. Primarily in English.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ISN International Relations & Security Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Left Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1982 - present. A guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship both inside and outside of academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Left Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LexisNexis Academic 
Description: Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

Help:  Developing a Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LexisNexis Academic?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) 
Description: Current news pertaining to all branches of the military. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 military-related journals and periodicals.

Tags:  army, navy, air force, coast_guard, marines, armed_forces, law_enforcement, FBI, CIA, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Conference of State Legislatures 
Description: Founded in 1975, NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.

Help:  User Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Conference of State Legislatures?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newsbank: Access World News 
Description: Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.

Tags:  Arlington Morning News, Boston Globe, Charlotte Observer, Dallas Morning News, Denver Post, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Fresno Bee, Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, Merced Sun-Star, Modesto Bee, Miami Herald, New York Times, New York Sun, New York Post, Oakland Tribune, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, Sacramento Bee, San Diego Union-Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, Washington Post  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newsbank: Access World News?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 major U.S. and International newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Tags:  news, television, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newspaper Source (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4  
Description: Access to collections of primary sources from Asia and the West. Includes Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theater, Music, and Literature.

Tags:  NCCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4 ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Official Index to The Times 
Description: 1906 - 1980. See also Palmers Index to The Times, with Palmer's Full Text.

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Official Index to The Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

OpenJurist 
Description: Open Jurist is a resource for access to the case law of the United States. This collection includes 647,000 opinions from the United States Supreme Court - beginning in 1754 when it was known as the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania; and the Federal Appellate Courts - beginning in 1880.

Comments or questions about OpenJurist?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) 
Description: Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.

Tags:  Social Issues, Controversial Issues  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (ProQuest) 
Description: Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PolicyArchive 
Description: A freely available archive for public policy research including reports, charts, videos and white papers. Materials are provided by registered organizations and verified before posting. Search and browse capabilities are available. Initiated by Indian University-Purdue University's Indianapolis Library and Center for Governmental Studies.

Comments or questions about PolicyArchive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Political Americana Collection 
Description: 1789 - 1980. Approximately 5,500 Presidential promotional and commemorative items including cartoons, prints, posters, lapel buttons, ribbons, textiles, hats, ballots, broadsides, pamphlets and more.

Help:  About LUNA  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Political Americana Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1974 - present. Over 10,000 full-text articles from approximately 25 journals covering topics such as political theory, area studies, comparative politics and American government.

Help:  Homepage Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest 
Description: Original archival materials documenting key issues and events from the period 1950 - 1975. Includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, ephemera, memorabilia and selected video footage.

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
Description: Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
Description: SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Tags:  SSRN  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Science Research Network (SSRN)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences Citation Index 
Description: 1956 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to social science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Sciences Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statewide Database (California) 
Description: Includes voting, registration and geographic data sets for the State of California for statewide elections beginning in 1992. Provided by UC Berkeley Law Center for Research.

Tags:  California  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Statewide Database (California)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statista 
Description: Integrates data on 60,000+ topics from into charts, graphs and infographics that can be reused without licensing restrictions. Categorized into 21 market sectors, provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other markets. Resource is well-suited to undergraduates in need of quick authoritative statistics.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statista?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Ready Reference (Data-Planet) 
Description: Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.

Help:  Help Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Ready Reference (Data-Planet)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 
Description: 1960 - 1974. This searchable database includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

THOMAS 
Description: In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress. Includes bills, resolutions, schedules, calendars, committee information, activity in Congress, and more.

Help:  Help  |  View Frequently Asked Questions About THOMAS  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about THOMAS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

U.S. Congressional Serial Set 
Description: 1817 - 1980. Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about U.S. Congressional Serial Set?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UNBISnet (United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet) 
Description: UNBIS is the primary bibliographic database of the United Nations. Established in 1979, it offers access to documents of the United Nations and to non-UN publications acquired by the Dag Hammarskjold Library in New York and the UN Library in Geneva.

Comments or questions about UNBISnet (United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

United States Senate 
Description: Includes information about the senate with a page dedicated to each senator in the current congress.

Comments or questions about United States Senate?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of Chicago Press Online Journals 
Description: Chicago Journals Online is a fully searchable online portal including nearly fifty scholarly journals and annuals - from the latest research in a wide range of subjects to historical content dating from the founding of the University of Chicago Press in 1892 when it began publishing the Journal of Political Economy.

Help:  Info & Services  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about University of Chicago Press Online Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Women and Social Movements in the United States 
Description: 1600 - 2000. Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Women and Social Movements in the United States?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank e-Library 
Description: A portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents including World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers on development related issues. Offers advanced search capabilities, for example, limits by subject area or region. Full-text of all documents available in pdf.

Help:  Site Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank e-Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators 
Description: World Bank provides global statistical data in support of research and the understanding of global issues.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Development Indicators (WDI Online) 
Description: 1960 - present. WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).

Tags:  WDI  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Development Indicators (WDI Online)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World War II Posters 
Description: The World War II Poster Project was created by the HIST100 class at Bucknell University during the Fall 2006.

Comments or questions about World War II Posters?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444