Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Religion

18th Century Collections Online (Gale) 
Description: Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about 18th Century Collections Online (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Acta Sanctorum 
Description: The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete texts of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum, published in Antwerp and Brussels, from 1643-1940. Includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.

Help:  ACTA Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Acta Sanctorum?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Archives Unbound: Global Missions and Theology (Gale) 
Description: 1800 - 1899. Documents nineteenth century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States through personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries and churches.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Archives Unbound: Global Missions and Theology (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
Description: Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

Tags:  Mexico, Spain, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Title List  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO) 
Description: 1949 - present. An index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in religious studies including all the major faiths. Some multimedia citations are available.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Encyclopaedia of Islam 
Description: Includes articles on distinguished Muslims, tribes, dynasties, crafts, sciences, political and religious institutions, geography, ethnography, history, topography and monuments of the major Islamic towns and cities.

Help:  Help  |  Help with fonts, special characters and appearance of the text  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Encyclopaedia of Islam?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an 
Description: Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history & exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.

Tags:  islam  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Help with fonts, special characters and appearance of the text  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures 
Description: Brings together 1,000+ scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Covers every topic for which there is significant research from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.

Help:  Help  |  Help with fonts, special characters and appearance of the text  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

FRANCIS - International Humanities and Social Studies (EBSCO) 
Description: 1984 - present. International index to articles in the humanities and social sciences. Emphasis on religion, anthropology, art history, literature and economics. Updated monthly.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Using Institution Records   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about FRANCIS - International Humanities and Social Studies (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Islamicus (ProQuest) 
Description: 1906-present. An extensive bibliography of materials written in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Coverage ranges broadly over the history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures of the Muslim world. Journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings and essays are indexed.

Tags:  islam, muslim  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index Islamicus (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Patrologia Latina 
Description: The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.

Help:  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Patrologia Latina?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
Description: Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library  
Description: TBRC is a registered non-profit corporation dedicated to the preservation, organization and dissemination of Tibetan literature. The collection includes new publications, rare literature and publications from small printing houses, monasteries and educational institutions in China, India, Bhutan, and Nepal.

Tags:  TBRC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UC Press E-Books Collection 
Description: 1982 - 2004. Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about UC Press E-Books Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Digital Library 
Description: The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444