Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Science (Environmental)

Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog 
Description: Search the National Agricultural Library Catalog and Article Citation Database or browse by subject. Topics covered include agriculture, agronomy, animal science, aquaculture, biology, botany, breeding, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, environment, fertilizers, pesticides, food agriculture, forestry, and horticulture.

Tags:  agriculture, agronomy, entomology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Ask A Question  |  Search Options: Quick Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

AGRIS 
Description: AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology created by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations in 1974. Covers journal articles, books, and reports on agricultural sciences and technology, including fisheries and aquaculture.

Tags:  oceanography, aquaculture  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about AGRIS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Atlas of our Changing Environment 
Description: Through illustrations, satellite images, and ground photographs, this interactive media depicts and describes humanity's past and present impact on the environment. The primary focus is on environmental status and trends over the last 30 years, in terms of both physical and human geography. View using Google Maps or Google Earth (download required).

Tags:  UNEP  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Atlas of our Changing Environment?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles 
Description: Provides 152 final toxicological profiles covering the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals and compounds from the U.S. Public Health Service's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.

Tags:  toxicology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Energy Network Project Resource Center 
Description: The California Energy Network (CEN), a project sponsored by the UC Riverside Libraries is a clearinghouse of information specifically for the energy industry, with useful information for the interested consumer as well.

Comments or questions about California Energy Network Project Resource Center?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ENVIROnetBASE 
Description: From CRCnetBASE: The latest research on pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination, this e-book collection provides complete access to references on methods for site assessment, remediation, and soil and water quality monitoring. The Environmental Science Collection describes new tools and technologies for remote sensing, GIS, and photogrammetric environmental monitoring.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ENVIROnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EPrint Network 
Description: Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EPrint Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

FAOStat 
Description: Note: Registration is free but required. Downloads are limited to 4,000 records at a time. International statistics on production, trade, food balances, forestry, land use, irrigation, fertilizer, pesticides, agriculture, food aid, and fisheries.

Tags:  forestry, agriculture  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about FAOStat?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

GeoRef* (ProQuest) 
Description: *Includes GeoRef in Process. 1963-present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about GeoRef* (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

GreenFILE (EBSCO) 
Description: GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports related to the environment. Full text is available for selected titles and references are available for an additional 200 titles.

Tags:  environment, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about GreenFILE (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Herbal Safety 
Description: The website has two primary purposes: To disseminate information about research findings related to herbal use in our region, as well as to provide information about the safety of herbal product use in both English and Spanish. This feature makes it one of the few bilingual websites specifically developed to disseminate non-commercial information about medicinal plants.

Tags:  herbs,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Herbal Safety?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology 
Description: Contains the complete text, including citations, tables, and abstracts, of many volumes of the 4th ed. of the Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) 
Description: 1990 - present. A resource for U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business information.

Tags:  NTIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Download Help (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Technical Information Service (NTIS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Quertle 
Description: Searches MEDLINE/PubMed, BioMed Central, NIH RePORTER database of grant applications and the National Library of Medicine's TOXLINE database of the effects of drugs and other chemicals.

Tags:  toxicology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Quertle?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SciFinder Scholar 
Description: (From Chemical Abstract Services - CAS) A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account.

Tags:  chemical abstracts, chemical_abstracts, CAS, CASREACT  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  SciFinder Scholar User Guide 2013  |  Contents at a Glance  |  How to register to use SciFinder Scholar  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SciFinder Scholar?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

STATSnetBASE 
Description: This repository of statistical references meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about STATSnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET) 
Description: A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the National Library of Medicine. Some databases include data and full text. Databases include Hazardous Substances Databank, Toxics Release Inventory, Integrated Risk Information System, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, GENE-TOX from the EPA, TOXLINE, and NCI structures.

Tags:  TOXNET  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

TRI Explorer 
Description: Environmental Protection Agency database containing information on specific toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually.

Tags:  EPA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about TRI Explorer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

U.S. EPA Online Library System 
Description: A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency library network. Includes citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment. A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the EPA Library Network. Included here are citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment.

Tags:  standards  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about U.S. EPA Online Library System?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Washington State Coastal Atlas 
Description: Photos of Washington State's shoreline from the air. Searchable by city, county, or landmark.

Help:  FAQ   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Washington State Coastal Atlas?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Western Waters Digital Library 
Description: Provides access to significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Western Waters Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444