Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Science (General)

Academic Conferences in China 
Description: Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Contains full-text papers, or abstracts and other descriptive information of papers from national and international conferences held in China from 1986 onward. Document delivery service is available upon request.

Tags:  ACIC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Academic Conferences in China?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
Description: A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching for Academic Libraries  |  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Annual Reviews 
Description: A collection of over 30 journals in biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Full-text is available for the most recent years.

Help:  Annual Reviews Site Help  |  Frequently Asked Questions  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Annual Reviews?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ArticleFirst 
Description: 1990 - present. Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Comments or questions about ArticleFirst?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

AuthorMapper 
Description: A search tool from Springer to discern trends, patterns and subject experts in scientific fields. The site searches over 3 million Springer journal articles. Users can search using keyword, discipline, institution, journal and author. Results are displayed in charts, a timeline graph, and a map.

Tags:  Springer  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about AuthorMapper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
Description: BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

Tags:  BASE  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

BIODIDAC 
Description: This site contains hundreds of images organized into three sections covering Zoology, Botany, and Histology. All images can be used for non-commercial purposes.

Help:  Information  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about BIODIDAC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Book Citation Index  
Description: (2005-present) Connects the library's book collection to additional discovery tools, optimizing citation navigation between books and the wider world of scholarly research.

Help:  Support Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Book Citation Index ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
Description: Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science 
Description: 1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Contents Connect  
Description: (1998-present) Provides access to complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books

Help:  Support Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Contents Connect ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Data Citation Index  
Description: (1900 present) Supports data discovery, reuse, and interpretation. Provides access to datasets in multiple repositories from a single destination.

Help:  Support Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Data Citation Index ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital Commons Network 
Description: Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Comments or questions about Digital Commons Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eBooks on EBSCOhost 
Description: EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended.

Tags:  netlibrary  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Support  |  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eBooks on EBSCOhost?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ebrary 
Description: A eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Browser plug-in required. Log-in required for bookshelf feature to highlight or mark text. Multiple user simultaneous access. No downloading or saving. Print entire book or specified page ranges. Full-text searching.

Comments or questions about Ebrary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Eigenfactor 
Description: This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.

Help:  Why Eigenfactor?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Eigenfactor?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library 
Description: A collection of books, journals, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly works deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.

Help:  Help & FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

FOODnetBASE 
Description: From CRCnetBASE. Provides access to expert guidance on food safety, quality assurance, processing, brewing, regulations, and microbiology. This collection offers information on latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies.

Tags:  CRCnetBASE  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about FOODnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Google Scholar 
Description: A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical reports.

Comments or questions about Google Scholar?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Great Images in NASA 
Description: (GRIN) Searchable and browsable archive of over 1,000 images of significant historical interest scanned at high resolution in several sizes. The collection is intended for the media, publishers and the general public looking for high quality photographs.

Tags:  space, aeronautics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  How to Use GRIN  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Great Images in NASA?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search) 
Description: A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. To view complete items, select "Full view only" on the search page.

Tags:  worldcat  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help FAQ  |  About  |  Traditional Catalog Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (EBSCO) 
Description: 1975 - present. Covers a wide range of topics in the history of science.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about History of Science, Technology and Medicine (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature  
Description: Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
Description: 1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC 
Description: 1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Tags:  bioinformatics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Online Help  |  Subject Searching (Video)  |  Advanced Searching (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC Archive 
Description: 1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

Help:  Online Help  |  How to Search (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

JSTOR 
Description: Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about JSTOR?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ UC Merced 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display Merced resources listed first according to relevance.

Help:  Index Labels  |  Content Overview  |  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ UC Merced?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ University of California 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond.

Help:  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ University of California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

MyiLibrary 
Description: Includes hundreds of e-book titles by various publishers including Wiley, Blackwell, Taylor & Francis and Springer. Also provides books, reports, journals, bulletins and additional documents published by Inter-Governmental Organizations (IGOs).

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Adobe reader required. Log-in required to save searches, notes and bookmarks. Most titles have single user access. Print or save 10 pages at a time. Export citations. Full-text searching.

Comments or questions about MyiLibrary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) 
Description: 1990 - present. A resource for U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business information.

Tags:  NTIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Download Help (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Technical Information Service (NTIS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD) 
Description: Search and locate electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Some documents are restricted to specific educational institutions while others are freely available for download.

Tags:  NTLTD  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

OAIster 
Description: Searchable collection of working papers, preprints, reports, eprints and other "hard-to-find" documents from academic organizations around the world. Produced by the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.

Comments or questions about OAIster?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Papers First 
Description: 1993 - present. Records for papers presented at worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, workshops, and congresses in the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Physical and Life Sciences. To search by conference name use Proceedings.

Comments or questions about Papers First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Proceedings First 
Description: Includes conference proceedings from a wide variety of disciplines, including the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Physical and Life Sciences. Each proceedings provides a list of papers presented. Individual records for each paper may be found in the PapersFirst database.

Tags:  conference_proceedings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Tutorial Index  |  QuickStart Guide  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Proceedings First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I 
Description: 1861-present. Lists most U.S. dissertations, and many dissertations and master's theses from Canada, Great Britain and continental Europe. Abstracts included 1980-present. Includes full text for all UC dissertations, at no charge, 1997 - present. British and Continental European dissertations covered 1988 - present. Masters theses listed selectively from 1988.

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  ProQuest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Royal Society Publishing 
Description: 1665 - present. Access to the historical journal of the world's oldest scientific academy, the Royal Society. Includes ~60,000 scientific papers permanently free to access online.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Royal Society Publishing?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
Description: Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Citation Index Expanded 
Description: 1900 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Citation Index Expanded?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Online 
Description: Provided by AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science) a leading voice for the interests of scientists worldwide. Science Online is the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general-science journal.

Help:  About Us  |  For Members  |  For Readers  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Watch 
Description: ScienceWatch.com (updated weekly) provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science Indicators from Thomson Reuters. Provides an ideal, convenient location for keeping up with the latest developments in science.

Comments or questions about Science Watch?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scirus 
Description: A science-specific search engine designed to search a combination of web information, preprint servers, digital archives, repositories and some patent and journal databases. May link to library subscribed content.

Help:  Scirus Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scirus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scopus 
Description: Indexes 21,000 peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and book series. Includes 5.5 million conference papers and cross searches 25.2 million patents. Features a Journal Analyzer tool to assess journal performance. Trial access to Scopus ends on December 31, 2014.

Help:  Help and Contact  |  Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scopus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Selected Science News Sources (from Academic Search Complete) 
Description: Selected science news sources from Academic Search Complete. The sources include Scientific American, Discover, Newsweek, The Environmental Magazine and others. Note: May be appropriate for WRI 116.

Tags:  Academic Search Complete  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Selected Science News Sources (from Academic Search Complete)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SpringerLink 
Description: A database of high-quality journal, book series, books and reference works from Science Technical Medical (STM) publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SpringerLink?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 
Description: TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
Note: Database interface available in Chinese and English

Tags:  TEPS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UC Press E-Books Collection 
Description: 1982 - 2004. Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about UC Press E-Books Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

USPTO Web Patent Databases 
Description: 1790 - present. United States Patent and Trademark Office produced database of U.S. patents. Full-text available for each patent. USPTO Manual of Classification How to Identify and Obtain Patents.

Help:  Help Files  |  Frequently-Asked Questions  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about USPTO Web Patent Databases?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Web of Science 
Description: Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Help:  Help  |  New Features - August 2011  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Web of Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection 
Description: 2011 frontlist titles only. Includes 950+ online books with 2011 publication dates. Subject areas include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Titles continually added through 2011 as they are published.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wolfram Alpha 
Description: Wolfram Alpha is an online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from structured data. Searches hundreds of datasets and many external sources.

Help:  About  |  Examples  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wolfram Alpha?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WorldCat 
Description: Represents holdings of library materials in a variety of formats held at more than 12,000 OCLC affiliated libraries worldwide: academic, public, governmental, private.

Comments or questions about WorldCat?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444