Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Social Sciences General

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
Description: A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching for Academic Libraries  |  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ACLS Humanities e-Book 
Description: A collection of 1,700 plus full-text titles focused on the humanities. Unlimited multi-user access.

Help:  ACLS Humanities e-book Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Print or save one page at a time. Full-text searching. Save or email citations. Some titles available for purchase.

Comments or questions about ACLS Humanities e-Book?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Annual Reviews 
Description: A collection of over 30 journals in biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Full-text is available for the most recent years.

Help:  Annual Reviews Site Help  |  Frequently Asked Questions  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Annual Reviews?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ArticleFirst 
Description: 1990 - present. Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Comments or questions about ArticleFirst?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

AuthorMapper 
Description: A search tool from Springer to discern trends, patterns and subject experts in scientific fields. The site searches over 3 million Springer journal articles. Users can search using keyword, discipline, institution, journal and author. Results are displayed in charts, a timeline graph, and a map.

Tags:  Springer  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about AuthorMapper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
Description: BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

Tags:  BASE  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
Description: CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Tags:  CRL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Request Materials from CRL  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Center for Research Libraries (CRL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1982 - present. A collection of full-text articles from approximately 20 journals covering subjects such as mass communication, journalism and public opinion.

Tags:  journalism  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Homepage Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities 
Description: 1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher 
Description: CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Tutorial  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eBooks on EBSCOhost 
Description: EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.

Tags:  netlibrary  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Support  |  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eBooks on EBSCOhost?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ebrary 
Description: A eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Browser plug-in required. Log-in required for bookshelf feature to highlight or mark text. Multiple user simultaneous access. No downloading or saving. Print entire book or specified page ranges. Full-text searching.

Comments or questions about Ebrary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Eigenfactor 
Description: This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.

Help:  Why Eigenfactor?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Eigenfactor?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library 
Description: A collection of books, journals, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly works deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.

Help:  Help & FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Google Scholar 
Description: A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical reports.

Comments or questions about Google Scholar?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search) 
Description: A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. To view complete items, select "Full view only" on the search page.

Tags:  worldcat, hathitrust  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help FAQ  |  About  |  Traditional Catalog Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature  
Description: Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
Description: 1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) 
Description: Contains descriptions of the numerable digital resources developed by IMLS grantees. This database allows you to search hundreds of digital image collections simultaneously.

Tags:  museums, IMLS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 
Description: ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Tags:  ICPSR  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

iPoll (Roper Center) 
Description: A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.

Tags:  polls, roper center  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Tutorial  |  Dataset Search Tutorial  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about iPoll (Roper Center)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ISN International Relations & Security Network 
Description: Open access information service for international relations and security professionals. Includes grey literature, primary source material, books and journals. Primarily in English.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ISN International Relations & Security Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

JSTOR 
Description: Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about JSTOR?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Masterfile Premier (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographics, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an image collection.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Ask-A-Librarian  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Masterfile Premier (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ UC Merced 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display Merced resources listed first according to relevance.

Help:  Index Labels  |  Content Overview  |  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ UC Merced?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ University of California 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond.

Help:  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ University of California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

MyiLibrary 
Description: Includes hundreds of e-book titles by various publishers including Wiley, Blackwell, Taylor & Francis and Springer. Also provides books, reports, journals, bulletins and additional documents published by Inter-Governmental Organizations (IGOs).

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Adobe reader required. Log-in required to save searches, notes and bookmarks. Most titles have single user access. Print or save 10 pages at a time. Export citations. Full-text searching.

Comments or questions about MyiLibrary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Population Census of China Database (English version) 
Description: Full-text database and census analysis system. Includes census data from 1949 - 2010 and covers gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. Available in English and Chinese.

Tags:  China, census data  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Population Census of China Database (English version)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD) 
Description: Search and locate electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Some documents are restricted to specific educational institutions while others are freely available for download.

Tags:  NTLTD  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

OAIster 
Description: Searchable collection of working papers, preprints, reports, eprints and other "hard-to-find" documents from academic organizations around the world. Produced by the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.

Comments or questions about OAIster?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) 
Description: Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.

Tags:  Social Issues, Controversial Issues  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford Reference Online 
Description: Search over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

Help:  FAQ  |  New User Guide  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford Reference Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Papers First 
Description: 1993 - present. Records for papers presented at worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, workshops, and congresses in the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Physical and Life Sciences. To search by conference name use Proceedings.

Comments or questions about Papers First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest) 
Description: (formerly PCI Full Text) An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Tags:  PAO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PAO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,00 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Tags:  PIO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PIO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Proceedings First 
Description: Includes conference proceedings from a wide variety of disciplines, including the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Physical and Life Sciences. Each proceedings provides a list of papers presented. Individual records for each paper may be found in the PapersFirst database.

Tags:  conference_proceedings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Tutorial Index  |  QuickStart Guide  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Proceedings First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Project Muse 
Description: Scholarly Journals Online Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.

Help:  How to Search (video)  |  How to Browse (video)  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Project Muse?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I 
Description: 1861-present. Lists most U.S. dissertations, and many dissertations and master's theses from Canada, Great Britain and continental Europe. Abstracts included 1980-present. Includes full text for all UC dissertations, at no charge, 1997 - present. British and Continental European dissertations covered 1988 - present. Masters theses listed selectively from 1988.

Help:  Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rand California 
Description: Rand California, sponsored by the think-tank, RAND, is a subscription-based service on California and U.S. public policy with an emphasis on statistics.

Comments or questions about Rand California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scopus 
Description: Indexes 21,000 peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and book series. Includes 5.5 million conference papers and cross searches 25.2 million patents. Features a Journal Analyzer tool to assess journal performance. Trial access to Scopus ends on December 31, 2014.

Help:  Help and Contact  |  Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scopus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statista 
Description: Integrates data on 60,000+ topics from into charts, graphs and infographics that can be reused without licensing restrictions. Categorized into 21 market sectors, provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other markets. Resource is well-suited to undergraduates in need of quick authoritative statistics.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statista?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

STATSnetBASE 
Description: This repository of statistical references meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about STATSnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 
Description: TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
Note: Database interface available in Chinese and English

Tags:  TEPS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt) 
Description: Searchable database of network broadcasts (e.g. CBS, NBC, ABC) including news abstracts and broadcast descriptions.

Tags:  TV, Vanderbilt  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of California Press Online Journals 
Description: UC Press, Journals and Digital Publishing disseminates scholarship of enduring value. Print and online journals span many topics in the humanities and social sciences.

Comments or questions about University of California Press Online Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of Chicago Press Online Journals 
Description: Chicago Journals Online is a fully searchable online portal including nearly fifty scholarly journals and annuals - from the latest research in a wide range of subjects to historical content dating from the founding of the University of Chicago Press in 1892 when it began publishing the Journal of Political Economy.

Help:  Info & Services  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about University of Chicago Press Online Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Web of Science 
Description: Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Help:  Help  |  New Features - August 2011  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Web of Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection 
Description: 2011 frontlist titles only. Includes 950+ online books with 2011 publication dates. Subject areas include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Titles continually added through 2011 as they are published.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wolfram Alpha 
Description: Wolfram Alpha is an online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from structured data. Searches hundreds of datasets and many external sources.

Tags:  math, numbers  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  Examples  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wolfram Alpha?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Digital Library 
Description: The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WorldCat 
Description: Represents holdings of library materials in a variety of formats held at more than 12,000 OCLC affiliated libraries worldwide: academic, public, governmental, private.

Comments or questions about WorldCat?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Worldmapper 
Description: Includes over 300 freely available equal area cartograms (density-equalising) maps on touching on a variety of categories and subjects including wealth, disaster and pollution. Contributors to the project include individuals from the University of Sheffield and University of Michigan.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Worldmapper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444