Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Sociology

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO) 
Description: 1969 - 1990. Archives of Alternative Press Index. Includes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps 
Description: Provides access to county-by-county data related to factors that influence health: smoking, obesity, poverty, access to health care, etc. Compiled by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about County Health Rankings & Roadmaps?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) 
Description: 1970 - present. Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes publications from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

GenderWatch (ProQuest) 
Description: 1970s-present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about GenderWatch (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 
Description: ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Tags:  ICPSR  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LocalLabs 
Description: Socioeconomic data for U.S. locations. Search by zip code, city, county, or state.

Comments or questions about LocalLabs?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Population Census of China Database (English version) 
Description: Full-text database and census analysis system. Includes census data from 1949 - 2010 and covers gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. Available in English and Chinese.

Tags:  China, census data  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Population Census of China Database (English version)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Population Index (on JSTOR) 
Description: 1937 - 1999. Annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population studies.

Tags:  JSTOR  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Ask A Lilbrarian  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Population Index (on JSTOR)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
Description: Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature 
Description: 1997 - present. Includes references for articles supporting and opposing same-sex marriage as well as information on related issues such as parenting and children, taxation, etc. Also includes references to books, symposia and legal information related to same-sex marriage.

Comments or questions about Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SAMHDA - Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive 
Description: Research data sponsored by the Office of Applied Study, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Datasets are available for download in SPSS, SAS, and Stata formats.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SAMHDA - Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Explorer 
Description: 1790 - present. Includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States for demographic research. Allows users to make maps and reports.

Comments or questions about Social Explorer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC) 
Description: (Prototype) Sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities, SNAC helps users discover, locate and use distributed historical records. Still in development, SNAC aims to provide researchers with socio-historical contexts in which records were created. Search by name, subject, or occupation.

Tags:  SNAC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
Description: SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Tags:  SSRN  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Science Research Network (SSRN)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences Citation Index 
Description: 1956 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to social science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Sciences Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Theory 
Description: Provides comprehensive coverage of major social thinkers together with seminal texts from lesser figures.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Theory?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1952-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 30 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Help:  Search Help  |  Major Features  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt) 
Description: Searchable database of network broadcasts (e.g. CBS, NBC, ABC) including news abstracts and broadcast descriptions.

Tags:  TV, Vanderbilt  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Web of Science 
Description: Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Help:  Help  |  New Features - August 2011  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Web of Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators 
Description: World Bank provides global statistical data in support of research and the understanding of global issues.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444