Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

World Cultures

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
Description: Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

Tags:  Mexico, Spain, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Title List  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) 
Description: Contains more than 780,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Tags:  BAS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection 
Description: Created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project, the Claire Holt Papers comprise approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia and typescript notes about a trip to Indonesia in 1955-1956.

Tags:  Indonesia  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ClasePeriodica 
Description: CLASE and PERIODICA index over 2,600 Latin American journals in the fields of social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. The merged database also has over 300,000 citations published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Includes, articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, reports, and interview published in journals from 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Comments or questions about ClasePeriodica?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Columbia Gazetteer of the World 
Description: Includes names, descriptions and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

Help:  Getting Started  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Columbia Gazetteer of the World?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eHRAF Archaeology 
Description: A cross-cultural database containing information on world prehistory. Organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  User Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eHRAF Archaeology?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eHRAF World Cultures 
Description: A cross-cultural database that includes information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  User Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eHRAF World Cultures?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest) 
Description: *Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Tags:  news, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  Proquest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ethnographic Video Online 
Description: Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Tags:  documentary  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ethnographic Video Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) 
Description: Contains descriptions of the numerable digital resources developed by IMLS grantees. This database allows you to search hundreds of digital image collections simultaneously.

Tags:  museums, IMLS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library of Congress International Collections 
Description: Provides access to images from American Memory Historical Collections as well as international visual resource collections such as the Abdul Hamid II Collection (Ottoman Empire) and the Prokudin-Gorskii Collection (Russian Empire).

Comments or questions about Library of Congress International Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
Description: SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Tags:  SSRN  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Science Research Network (SSRN)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UNBISnet (United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet) 
Description: UNBIS is the primary bibliographic database of the United Nations. Established in 1979, it offers access to documents of the United Nations and to non-UN publications acquired by the Dag Hammarskjold Library in New York and the UN Library in Geneva.

Comments or questions about UNBISnet (United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UNESCO Statistics 
Description: Provides global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication. In addition to the rich statistical databases are monographs, articles, surveys, questionnaires, quick facts and much more.

Comments or questions about UNESCO Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Digital Library 
Description: The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Heritage (UNESCO) 
Description: The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity.

Tags:  UNESCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help/FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Heritage (UNESCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444