Skip to content Skip to navigation

New Books and DVDs

The storm
The storm : a novel
Arif Anwar
PR9199.4.A588 S86 2018
"At once grounded in history and fantastically imaginative, The Storm explores the humanity that connects us beyond the surface differences of race, religion, and nationality. It is an epic novel in the tradition of Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner and Rohinton Mistry's A Fine Balance, by a singularly gifted and perceptive new writer." --from Melvyl catalog.
Singing in the age of anxiety
Singing in the age of anxiety : lieder performances in New York and London between the World Wars
Laura Tunbridge
ML2811.8.N48 T76 2018
"Through richly varied case studies, Singing in the Age of Anxiety traces how lieder were circulated, presented, and consumed in metropolitan contexts, shedding new light on how music facilitated unlikely crossings of nationalist and internationalist ideologies during the interwar period." --from Melvyl catalog.
In their own best interest
In their own best interest : a history of the U.S. effort to improve Latin Americans
Lars Schoultz
F1418 .S395 2018
"In this book, Lars Schoultz explores the culture of "improvement" that defines the attitudes and values shaping all United States policies towards Latin America in the past and present. Schoultz's aim is to find the sources of this political and intellectual culture which has informed our relations with our southern neighbors and which continues to do so despite its faulty premises and its failure to effect change and transformation." --from Melvyl catalog.
Metamorphica
Metamorphica
Zachary Mason
PS3613.A8185 M483 2018
"In the tradition of his bestselling debut novel The Lost Books of the Odyssey, Zachary Mason's Metamorphica transforms Ovid's epic poem of endless transformation. It reimagines the stories of Narcissus, Pygmalion and Galatea, Midas and Atalanta, and strings them together like the stars in constellations--even Ovid becomes a story." --from Melvyl catalog.
The equations of life
The equations of life : how physics shapes evolution
Charles Cockell
QH360.5 .C63 2018
"In The Equations of Life, biologist Charles Cockell makes the surprising argument that the Universe constrains life, making its evolutionary outcomes quite predictable--in short, if we were to find, on some distant planet, something very much like a ladybug eating something very much like an aphid that had itself just been feeding on the sap of something very much like a flower, we shouldn't at all be surprised." --from Melvyl catalog.
The empire's new clothes
The empire's new clothes : a history of the Russian fashion industry, 1700-1917
Christine Ruane
GT1043 .R83 2009
"This book explores the impact of Westernization on Russia in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and presents a wealth of photographs of ordinary Russians in all their finery. This book shows how the fashion industry became a forum through which Russians debated and formed a new national identity." --Jacket.
The death of truth
The death of truth : notes on falsehood in the age of Trump
Michiko Kakutani
JK1726 .K355 2018
"Former New York Times critic Michiko Kakutani takes a penetrating look at the cultural forces that contributed to this gathering storm. In social media and literature, television, academia, and politics, Kakutani identifies the trends -- originating on both the right and the left -- that have combined to elevate subjectivity over factuality, science, and common values." --from Melvyl Catalog.
Epic of evolution : seven ages of the cosmos book cover
Epic of evolution : seven ages of the cosmos
Eric Chaisson
Ebook Central ebook
"Drawing on recent breakthroughs in astrophysics and biochemistry, Chaisson explores the development of the most microscopic and the most immense aspects of our universe, including the idea that all objects-from quarks and quasars to microbes and minds-are interrelated. Epic of Evolution is a stunning view of how various changes, operating across almost incomprehensible domains of space and nearly inconceivable stretches of time-all by means of the cosmic evolutionary combination of chance and necessity-have given rise to our galaxy, our star, our planet, and ourselves." -- from Melvyl catalog.
The Cash Ceiling book cover
The Cash Ceiling: why only the rich run for office--and what we can do about it
Nicholas Carnes
JSTOR eBook
"Why are Americans governed by the rich? Millionaires make up only three percent of the public but control all three branches of the federal government. How did this happen? What stops lower-income and working-class Americans from becoming politicians? The first book to answer these urgent questions, The Cash Ceiling provides a compelling and comprehensive account of why so few working-class people hold office--and what reformers can do about it."  -- from Publisher’s description.
Impoliteness : Using Language to Cause Offence book cover
Impoliteness : using language to cause offence
Jonathan Culpeper
Ebook Central ebook
"Grounded in naturally-occurring language data and drawing on findings from linguistic pragmatics and social psychology, Jonathan Culpeper provides a fascinating account of how impolite behaviour works. He examines not only its forms and functions but also people's understandings of it in both public and private contexts. He reveals, for example, the emotional consequences of impoliteness, how it shapes and is shaped by contexts, and how it is sometimes institutionalised. This book offers penetrating insights into a hitherto neglected and poorly understood phenomenon." -- from Publisher’s description.
Cents and sensibility book cover
Cents and sensibility : what economics can learn from the humanities
Gary Saul Morson; Morton Owen Schapiro
JSTOR eBook
"...an eminent literary critic and a leading economist make the case that the humanities, especially the study of literature, offer economists ways to make their models more realistic, their predictions more accurate, and their policies more effective and just...Cents and Sensibility demonstrates the benefits of a freewheeling dialogue between economics and the humanities by addressing a wide range of problems drawn from the economics of higher education, the economics of the family, and the development of poor nations. It offers new insights about everything from the manipulation of college rankings to why some countries grow faster than others. At the same time, the book shows how looking at real-world problems can revitalize the study of literature itself." -- from Publisher’s description.
Living It Up book cover
Living it up : our love affair with luxury
James B Twitchell
Ebook Central ebook
"...anthropologist Twitchell takes a witty and insightful look at luxury -- what it is, who defines it, and why we can't seem to get enough of it...In recent years, says Twitchell, luxury spending has grown much faster than overall spending -- and it continues to grow despite the economic recession...Sharply observed and wickedly funny, Living It Up is a revealing and entertaining examination of why we are all part of the cult of luxury." -- from Melvyl catalog.