Skip to content Skip to navigation

Tutorials: Tag: Databases

Resources & Tools
Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a great database to use as you start your research. Learn how you can use it to access a wide range of materials.

Creative Commons

Analyzing HathiTrust Digital Library Data With The HathiTrust Research Center

Learn how the HathiTrust Digital Library Data and the HathiTrust Research Center can support your text analysis research and data mining via their full suite of analysis tools.

Finding Databases for Research

Use the library's online Database listing to find relevant databases for research.

HTML version

Creative Commons

Finding Empirical Studies in PsycINFO

PsycINFO is a psychology database that you can use to find empirical articles (articles that report on original research).

HTML version

Creative Commons

Finding Important Journals in a Research Discipline

This interactive tutorial will show you how to locate the important journals in a research discipline using the Journal Citation Reports (JCR).

HTML version

Creative Commons

Database Platform vs Database Content

There is a difference between database content and the database provider. e.g. Academic Search Complete is the content of the database while EBSCOhost is the platform/provider.

HTML version

Creative Commons

Recommended Databases

View recommended databases to view popular or important databases from a variety of subject areas.

HTML version

Creative Commons

Research Process Tutorial Series

Find information and understand the information cycle by viewing these interactive tutorials with short quizzes.

HTML version

Creative Commons

Research Skills: Introductory
Finding & Using Databases

Databases provide you access to information for both personal and academic purposes. This module will introduce you to the value of databases and library databases available for your research. This tutorial will take approximately 10-15 minutes to complete. 

HTML version

Creative Commons

Finding Databases

How to find databases at UC Merced. Learn to search for databases and narrow down by database subject area, full-text availability, etc.

Creative Commons

Pages